A Sailor Moon Bridesmaid Proposal: Will you be my Sailor Soldier on my wedding day?

The “Bridesmaid Proposal:” In the flurry of having to pick out every little detail for my wedding,  I knew I wanted to put aside some time to make a special moment of asking my friends if they would accept the position of being my bridesmaid.

As important as things like linen colors, appetizer choices, and wedding dresses are, your bridesmaids are really the last line of defense against total meltdowns on your big day. I’ve run interference as a bridesmaid a few times, and already know that…. I will DEFINITELY need some linebackers (sports analogies, ugh I know, sorry!).  It was really, truly, hard to just pick four girls, so after sitting on it for 3 months, I finally got up the nerve to ask my ladies. I wanted to say thanks-in-advance and mark the day that I asked my friends to be bridesmaids with something special, so crafting a “proposal” gift sounded just about right.

I googled some ideas online, and combined a few together, while adding a little Sailor Moon nerdiness to the design, using Illustrator (since yes, my wedding will have something to do with Sailor Moon… more on that later!).

Sailor Moon Friendship Power… MAKE UP!

I got these cute pink holographic boxes at Daiso (everything $1.50 store), but they only had different sizes, haha. WHATEVER!

Each box had a personal letter (not pictured), a Sailor Senshi key chain, a scroll of “bridesmaid’s duties” I Googled and print out, little cards that explain their role, their dress, and our day, and a little bottle of bath salts. The cute holographic and striped paper is also from Daiso, in their origami section. The bath salts I got from Target, and the little cards I just printed on thick sketch paper and cut down with patterned scissors or paper punches.

The lids of the boxes. Cut out some hearts on metallic star paper and mounted it on holographic paper.

FYI, these are the new Sailor Moon keychains they just released for the 20th anniversary promotion in Japan. You can get sets of them on eBay and Amazon.com! The tags say, “Fight for Love and Justice with me!”

Detail of the Sailor Jupiter box:

 

Sailor Mars box detail:

The little cards pull out and have descriptions of each item.. just gonna keep that under wraps since that info is private/a surprise/magical girl business only, haha.

Sailor Mercury Box detail. I added bubble scallops to these cards since… BUBBLE POWER! Also, I just happened to have the punch leftover from my last project, haha.

Sailor Venus Box detail:

The boxes didn’t really take too long to make, and I’m happy I made time for it! This is probably my last wedding activity for a little while as I get back to the real world for a bit (i.e. Cosplay, haha). If you have any questions on anything, please feel free to comment!

Also, if you haven’t seen it yet, you can check out my Shojou Manga Engagement Party post ❤

Keep in touch with Chubby Bunny!
Shop Chubby Bunny ] [Instagram] [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Tumblr ]

2 thoughts on “A Sailor Moon Bridesmaid Proposal: Will you be my Sailor Soldier on my wedding day?

  1. I just noticed you used different scissors for all of us, so precious! I absolutely adore this gurl and again so honored to be one of your sailor senshi. ❤

Leave a comment