Archive | 3:21 pm

My Art Deco Sailor Moon Inspired Wedding. Yeah, for real.

18 Dec

Hey all! I never post here anymore because I am a lazy goose, but also because I’ve been posting over on http://www.defectivegeeks.com lately! I’m going to share my post here of my wedding day since, hey! I can do what I want!

 

Okay, no laughing allowed. I had a Sailor Moon themed wedding.

But perhaps not the rainbow colored, anime-poster ridden melee of sad artistic choices that you are expecting. Since my groom and I  are fairly fashionable adults with an pretty serious otaku problem, we finally landed on the perfect mash up of classy and nerdy for our big day: We had an art deco Sailor Moon-inspired wedding.

Michelle & Will's Moonlight Wedding: Sailor Moon inspired

The plan was to have an elegant, grown up wedding, with a highly stylized injection of Sailor Moon design into every nook and cranny! Utilizing the extensive archive of beautiful Sailor Moon imagery, such as the lockets, wands, and symbols from the manga and anime, as well as the influence of Art Deco moon and stars designs, pulling together the decor, graphics, and fashion into an elegant nerd wedding was an event planner’s dream! As a professional event producer for Bubble Punch, as well as working in a hotel for most of my college years (100+ wedding receptions and lived to tell the tale!), I had extensive wedding planning and decorating experience under my belt, and was confident I would be able to do something unique, yet totally otaku-driven, to suit our tastes. Keep in mind, despite all of this, it was STILL SUPER DUPER STRESSFUL since it was my own wedding, haha! But here I am, mind in tact, and ready to tell you all about it!

Below is a summary in photos of the wedding, then after that is a breakdown of Fashion, Graphics, and Decor notes and DIY links for everything! THIS POST IS LONG, BUT HANG IN THERE, IT’S TOTES WORTH IT. Thank you so, so much to Shannon Cottrell for all of the amazing photos!

THE WEDDING!

Get pumped and watch the video before/while you read the rest!:
httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPxKm-5QcOY
 

On December 6, 2014 at 5:30AM, I rolled myself out of the giant bed in the honeymoon suite we got in the Millenium Biltmore in Downtown LA. I slept for about 2 hours. My maid of honor Yume Ninja told me the suite was haunted so that’s why we couldn’t sleep. Goddamned ghosts.

I clipped in all of my hair extensions and just started braiding and pushing my hair around until I got it where I wanted it. No, I did not do a hair “trial” by myself haha. I just winged it, and it was pretty good IF I DO SAY SO MYSELF! The other bridesmaids arrived as well as the awesome Tess (@TESSXMONEY on Instagram y’all! Hire her! She’s in NY!) came to do makeup. I ate a sausage egg McMuffin and sat down for makeup like a goddamn lady.

Michelle & Will's Moonlight Wedding: Sailor Moon inspired

Yume putting in Mandie‘s star circlet (she’s Sailor Mars!)
Michelle & Will's Moonlight Wedding: Sailor Moon inspired

Michelle & Will's Moonlight Wedding: Sailor Moon inspired

Michelle & Will's Moonlight Wedding: Sailor Moon inspired

Continue reading