Bunny Bites: Valentine’s Edition!

14 Feb

There are a lot of Valentine’s Day naysayers out there, it seems, but I am definitely one of those people who loves, loves, LOVES the holiday of love! Throughout the years, whether I was single or not, I’ve always celebrated Valentine’s Day with my friends or current beau. The real key is to celebrate it your own way, not the HallmarkKayJewler’s Advertised Way!

This year, I celebrated my 6th Valentine’s Day with my boyfriend Will, and we spent the day basically.. being fatties, haha. Take a peek at the food we ate, adorable sweets we scouted out, some outfits I wore, and more ideas to make V-Day your own!

Quick and casual Valentine’s Day Coordinate

Skirt: H&M, Puff sleeve shirt: F21, Boots: Thrifted, Kiss necklace: Gift

Classy Brunch: Gjelina Restaurant, Venice
We started out our lazy day by heading out to Gjelina, a pretty popular brunch place over on Abbot Kinney in Venice. It had pretty good reviews online so we gave it a short. The ambiance is super cool industrial, with a lot of reclaimed wood, old bulbs, metal work, and lovely details. The food, while good, felt a tad overpriced for the portions, and the service was middling.

Cool design work on the menu, but the ALL CAPS BODY TEXT ON THE MENU made it super hard to read.

Awesome old light bulb fixture above the bar area.

A side of bacon! Delish and thick!

Moroccan Baked Eggs with chili, tomato Sauce, cilantro & spiced yogurt. SUPER yummy!

Sunny Duck Eggs, with prosciutto, Romesco, arugula & lemon.

A Sweet Treat: N’Ice Cream, Venice
After that big breakfast, we strolled around Abbot Kinney for a bit checking out the fun vintage shops in the area. Being the eternal glutton that I am, I was craving something sweet as we neared the end of our walk, so we stopped in at N’Ice Cream and split a deeelicious gelato!

$3 for a good portion of salted caramel gelato! Super yummy.

Korean Spa Relax Time: Wi Spa, Koreatown
Will and I often go to this super huge Korean spa. They have a separate male and female area for bathing, then a co-ed area (where you get to wear dorky “Wi Spa” shirts they hand you) with dry heat rooms like the mud clay room, jade room, and salt room.

Sleepin on the jade floor. Luxuriously lazy.

Potato tornado! They sell these on street carts in Korea, but here it was all ready for me to eat inside the spa's restaurant! There's a kind of cheddar cheese powder poured on this fried potato delight. It's DELICIOUS. Tastes like a fresh baked Dorito.

The top of the spa has a little lounge area where you can look out over the city, too! It's a little chilly usually though.

Treats too cute to eat: Galleria Market, Koreatown
On our way to dinner we popped over to the Galleria so I could buy some gifts for my gal pals for V-Day. They had so many cute cakes and cupcakes, all totally overpriced, unfortunately!

Valentine's Cupcakes!! There was a minimum order of 25 cupcakes and it was $80 :/ BOO! I just wanted 12! You know... a dozen as bakers do...

Heart shaped cake! Come to me, my love... nomnomnom

Romance = Beer. City Tavern, Culver City
The easy way to my heart? Beer and sweets. My boyfriend is of a similar disposition, so we picked this little restaurant that we often frequent in Culver City, since it’s  a short walk from our home.

We ordered 2 flights of beer, the dark and light, to start off our meal. YUM.

IT seems like they've improved upon their Cheesy Poofs! There's a bigger portion and the poofs themselves are bigger, too! Yum. This is my favorite thing on the menu. FRIED CHEESE.

A nice fresh plate of oysters! These had a nice kick to it with some jalapeno oil and vinegar.

Crisp Pork Belly. They've made the portion larger since last time, too!

And for dessert, we got a peanut butter brownie! It was... SO. GOOD. I was definitely naysaying this item but Will talked me into it. NO REGRETS. SO GOOD.

Take a Spin!: Shibuya Lovers Night at the Grand Suite Hotel
Our friends from Tune In Tokyo were spinning at this event and invited us to stop by. The event was small in a well-designed romantic space, but unfortunately the bar manager didn’t really know what he was doing which caused a lot of harumph-ing during drink ordering time. They’re still new, though so hopefully they iron that all out eventually.

I changed into a dressier outfit for the event! Dress: Zac Posen for Target, Heart Bow: Chubby Bunny, Shoes: Alice + Olivia for Payless.

It was one of the most luxurious hangout days I’ve had in a while! I hope you all have a kickass Valentine’s Day and that you celebrate it in your own unique way, too!

Keep in touch with Chubby Bunny!
Shop Chubby Bunny ] [ Twitter ] [ Facebook ] [ Tumblr ]

 

One Response to “Bunny Bites: Valentine’s Edition!”

  1. Audrey (hkittygirl) February 14, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    All the food looks delicious, especially those Moroccan baked eggs and the cheese puffs! I feel like I need to try those places next time I’m in the area! ^^

Leave a Reply

