Japan Day 6: Osaka nostalgia and Eimi’s Art Show!

15 Aug

The next day I was pretty sleepy and groggy, but managed to human-up and get out to lunch with Caro to meet up with Nico and Chikuwaemil! They are both fantastic artists, and such nice people. It was Caro and my first time meeting them in person, though we had worked together before on a few projects for about half a year or so.  They both live in rather far out places of Osaka, and were so nice to come into central Osaka to come and meet us!

We went down to eat at the Dig Me Out Cafe, which was right below our cafe, and also the venue where the art exhibition we were in town for was set up! Eimi was the main artist for this show, but she had just finished hanging that morning and ran off to a meeting so she wasn’t able to join us for lunch.

Left to right: Me, NICO, Chikuwaemil, and Caro

Emi’s exhibition was already hung by the time we got to the cafe for lunch so we looked around and signed her guestbook!

Nico signing the guestbook.

Someone had gotten Emi this really cute panda bouquet!

We walked around Shinsaibashi a bit and looked at some stores before Nico had to leave to get some work done. Chikuwaemil and Caro stayed together and shopped some more, but I took a mini siesta back at the hotel because I wasn’t feeling so hot. When I awoke from my mini-nap, Caro and Chikuwa were in the middle of something, so I just took a quick walk around the Shinsaibashi and Namba area to visit all of my old stomping grounds quickly.

A view from the famous Doutonbori bridge. TONS of signs light up the sky at night. Thank god it was a nice cool and overcast day for once so I didn't die of heat exhaustion. This is the spot where I used to hang out with my current boyfriend and drink beers and eat a hot meat bun while talking about stuff late into the night. Ahhh, romance.

Another view of the signs next to the Dotonbori river.

After that, it was time for Eimi’s Exhibition’s opening party so I scooted back to the hotel and met up with Caro, Chikuwaemil and Emi there 🙂

Left to right: Eimi, Miho (one of Chikuwa's artist friends), and Chikuwaemil!

Info on the show

2 visitors to the gallery. I loved this girl's little pink horns and the eyeballs on her sailor jacket!

My friends that I was hanging out with the night before showed up too, and we all chatted and made new friends throughout the night and talked art. I took a ton more photos, which you can see here!

Around 10:30 or so we were super tuckered out, so Caro and I headed back to our hotel room to sleep forever and ever, and pack up to head back to Tokyo again the next day! (whirlwind trip, no?) We had a fashion show to attend back in Tokyo the following day, so our stay in Osaka was very short (though I came back for epic adventures once that was done).

In the morning Eimi was nice enough to meet us for a quick breakfast before we hopped on the bullet train back.

Eimi was SO CUTE and drew us both pictures! You can see her on the left flipping through one of her books and the adooorable sketch here!

After that we said our goodbyes and got on our train heading back northeast! The art show was really fun and I’m glad we were able to schlep down for one day to see it!

Here’s a quick extra picture of Caro’s apple juice bottle she bought on the train…

The girl says "I'm helping my mom with chores!" in the first box. Then in the second box.. uhh... sheep.

You can see the rest of the photos I didn’t post on my blog here! Be back tomorrow for an EXTREEEME update on the HARAJUKU KAWAII!! fashion show hosted by ASOBISYSTEM and some BEARBRICKS info about their massive display up in the PARCO department store in Shibuya!

‘Till next time!

One Response to “Japan Day 6: Osaka nostalgia and Eimi’s Art Show!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Japan Day 11/LAST DAY!: Koenji is my new love « I am Chubby Bunny! - September 8, 2011

    […] tour, Friend adventures, and Shinjuku Golden Gai Japan Day 5: Cruisin in Harajuku, Crashin in Osaka Japan Day 6: Osaka nostalgia and Eimi’s Art Show! Japan Day 7: Asobisystem presents “Harajuku Kawaii” event + peek at PARCO’s Bearbricks’ […]

Leave a Reply

