A Chubby Bunny Graduation

27 Jun

Last weekend, I graduated from FIDM, with a degree in Visual Communications (visual merch, planning retail interiors,styling, etc. Hard field of study to describe in one sentence..!)! This is my second post-high school graduation, so I was a little wary of going at first (I previously graduated with a B.A. in English, Advertising and Japanese from Penn State University many eons ago),  but I’m glad I went and experienced it!

Thanks for Will, True Mee, Alcuin, and Chrissa for coming to the graduation to support me! I felt like the odd man out since everyone else’s parents were there haha. Mine Were too far away to make it, and frankly, I think I’ve subjected them to enough boring ceremonies in my childhood to make them sit through another one.

The graduation was at fancy schmancy Staples center in downtown Los Angeles, home to the Lakers, and other sporting events that I have no clue about 🙂 I loved their projection screens though. That would be the one thing I notice haha.

Pictures ahoy!

Customized my boring black mortarboard (aka graduation cap) with blue and pink glitter gradient, bunny hears, a bow, rhinestones and sequins! I even cut the head cap part in half to fit more like a proper ladies' hat!

Quick shot of the graduates seating area before everyone had arrived, on the floor of Staples center.

All filled up with graduates and guests! Just my view from the far right aisle.

Giant screens! The main stage waaaay over there. Lots of foliage and a media projected background. Fancy!

Me and my buddy Tashington. She's one of the few people I talk to at FIDM and thank god we sat next to each other, otherwise I would've napped through the entire thing haha.

True Mee got some cute photos from the crowd, too!

Top: On the right, that's me getting my diploma! Bottom: True Mee and Chrissa! Thanks for supporting me guys!!!

Afterward we got some sukiyaki at Yojie, a Japanese place that’s right on the corner of where FIDM is 🙂

Me and Will, and True Mee and Alcuin!

They had to cart over enormous trays of meats! Yummm it was SUCH a good deal!

There was even a huge dessert plate and fondue for dessert! We had green tea chocolate fondue!

After dinner we did a whirlwind of bars around downtown for celebratory drinks! None of the photos I took that night really turned out except this one, haha. The life of a lush.

It was a nice chill night and I’m happy I was able to make it to the end of the year at FIDM without dying of exhaustion from juggling class and my businesses. There wasn’t really a break after that, unfortunately, and the day after graduation, I was off to San Francisco to assist Sugarpill with preparations for IMATS!

More on that later! It’s been a busy busy month, and it doesn’t look like it’s going to slow down anytime soon!

2 Responses to “A Chubby Bunny Graduation”

  1. Jenny (Hoot-n-Andy LLC) June 27, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Congratulations, Michelle! Wow- English, Japanese, Advertising, AND Visual Communications?! That’s quite an impressive resume you’ve got there, girl! 🙂

    Oh! LOVE how you ChubbyBunnified the ol’ mortarboard, too 🙂

  2. CheySaysHai June 30, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    I neeedddddd to try that fondue. O.o

Leave a Reply

