Art Openings: “Internally Yours” & “INNARDS”

16 Jun

Last Saturday, on June 11, 2011, I checked out two exhibition openings with a ton of talent around Los Angeles.

First, I headed to Corey Helford Gallery in Culver City, to see the opening for Nouar’s “Internally Yours” show. This was Nouar’s first show at Corey Helford. The show featured 3D gelatin molds with sinister faces eating themselves, other people, and each other. A little creepy, but overall cute, it was a really fun show to take in. Nouar’s show will be up until June 29th, so get over to CHG asap! They are also showing Joshua Petker’s “Celluloid Constellations” upstairs.

Corey Helford Gallery
8522 Washington Boulevard
Culver City, CA 90232

Afterwards, I booked it to Copro Gallery in Santa Monica to check out Joe Ledbetter‘s opening of his new show “INNARDS.” Joe is a super awesome artist that I’ve had the opportunity to meet and work with a few times, most notibly during the Sanrio anniversary show, and for Munky King’s release of the Omni last year at San Diego Comic Con.
For this show, Joe shows some of his best work to date. He says, “The goal of the show is to open up my work and ignore any restrictions. The theme of the show is that there is no theme. I want to reveal what’s been living inside me for the past year, and I’m ready to spew my guts all over the gallery” (quote from Copro Gallery press release). I love his characters and can’t wait for his Colossus Bunny to make it’s first appearance in LA soon!
Joe Ledbetter standing in front of the INNARDS signature piece.
It’s an awesome show that will be up until July 2, so check it out! They are also showing Ledbetter’s work with Joe Vaux’s “My Brain Made Me Do It” at Copro.
Copro Gallery – Bergamot Station
2525 Michigan Ave, Unit T5
Santa Monica, CA 90404
More photos from both shows can be seen here on my Flickr gallery!
Leave a Reply

