Kittens & Ice Cream Artwork: ネコポリタン (Nekopolitan)!

25 May

I will be participating in JapanLA’s “Kittens & Ice Cream’ art exhibition, which opens June 4th!

I just finished photographing the art piece that I’ll be entering in the gallery! A portion of the sales will go to the Japan Earthquake Animal Rescue & Support.

I used gouache, which I love for its texture, and some acrylic to get the pearly looking accents just right 🙂 At first, I had just the cat face on the ice cream cone, but added fangs and creepy claws to it to give it more character and weirdness, haha. The little faces in the melted puddle creep me out…!

I named it ネコポリタン (Nekopolitan),! Will gave me the idea to mishmash the words “Neko ” (which means “cat” in Japanese) and neopolitan, since the colors are striped in the ice cream 🙂

Hope you guys like it! If you have any questions about it, or are interested in purchasing, let me know at iamchubbybunny@gmail.com!

ネコポリタン (Nekopolitan), 2011
Michelle Nguyen
8″ x 10″
Gouache and acrylics on board
Frame is lavender with silver glitter (1″ deep)
$100

You can see the ice cream-like texture I tried to achieve and the shiny metallics from this angle :3

I had fun DIY-ing the simple frame by making it lavender and adding silver glitter.

Another angle to see texture

Signing my real name on artwork, and not as "Chubby Bunny" 🙂 Shock!

If you’d like to see the work in person, it will be on display in JapanLA from June 4 throughout the month! Also, if you’re local to LA, you can come to the big opening party! (Hosted by my event production company Bubble Punch!) Hope to see you there!

Epic flyer by Michelle Romo!

4 Responses to “Kittens & Ice Cream Artwork: ネコポリタン (Nekopolitan)!”

  1. SPQ May 25, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    So cute!!!

  2. Mademoiselle Creamy May 26, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    super cute! ♥ i wish i could come see it in person but i live in France!.. I love what you do, Chubby Bunny ^^ I just subscribed to your blog (finally another one on wordpress!), count me in your fans from now on! ♥.♥

    • iamchubbybunny May 26, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      Thank you so much! ❤ I love France! My brother lives in Paris and I visit him sometimes ❤

  3. sasha May 31, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    rad!

Leave a Reply

