Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist: Onch: Rainbow Prince of LA

29 Apr

All of the artists I chosen for the Bunnies & Bows event have influenced me on a creative, professional, or personal level in some way. I’ll be introducing some of the artists who have been sending me in their progress shots for the Bunnies & Bows gallery (debut & opening party May 7!) here!

Onch

Onch's "Meatlace" product, inspired by Lady Gaga's meat outfit! (Don't worry, it's just plastic!)

You may already know Onch from his stint on the reality show Paris’ My New BFF season 1 and 2, or from his super over-the-top food-themed jewelry line “Onch Movement,” for which my event production company helped throw a massively SWEET shindig for a few months ago…!

But, when I met Onch, he was just a cute-fashion lover the same as myself as he was sitting in JapanLA

Onch's amazing icecream cone necklace! I waaant ❤

chatting with the owner, Jamie, as I came in to do a photo session. Onch has a great passion for fashion, and more importantly, an amazingly energetic outlook on life, as well as business. I really respect Onch’s ability to “sell” cute, as well as BE cute and be himself, without worrying too much if people think he’s being strange or not. He knows what it’s like to be different, but instead of trying to blend in to be like everyone else, embraces his uniqueness and doesn’t worry about the “haters.” Lord knows I totally see eye to eye with him on this. I know strangers stare (or scream and take photos of me like I’m a rabid beast about to kill their babies), and that it’s a tough thing when growing up to not just try to be “normal” just so other people will stop bothering you.

Onch's works for the #PrayForJapan Exhibition in March.

And yet, here we all are, still being “weird,” creative, and loving it, embracing others who are like us and enjoy being unique!

So to Onch, I salute him for making a career of it, and also to being a totally sweet friend! I’m glad to have met him and I hope everyone who attends the party can, too!

His artwork matches his personality, and is super cute, glittery, and looks like candy! Check out some shots of his finished work!

Onch's completed super-glittery piece!

Name: Lucky dead bunny
Material: acrylic on wood, epoxy coating
Size 8.5″ x 11″
Price: $350

For all purchase inquiries, you can contact me at iamchubbybunny (at) gmail (dot ) com! Stay tuned for more artists’ previews for the Bunnies & Bows show!

Leave a Reply

