Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist: Michelle Romo: Heck Yeah, Cute Times!

24 Apr

All of the artists I chosen for the Bunnies & Bows event have influenced me on a creative, professional, or personal level in some way.  I’ll be introducing some of the artists who have been sending me in their progress shots for the Bunnies & Bows gallery (debut & opening party May 7!) here!

Michelle Romo

Michelle Romo is the mind behind Crowded Teeth, a super cute brand that focuses on 2d shape-oriented character art! Her extensive line of products produced through Loungefly includes wallets, bags, socks, T-shirts, and a whole lot more!

Michelle's gallery at JapanLA is chock full of cute! Even the walls are decorated!

I was first exposed to Michelle’s awesome artwork when I saw her come in to JapanLA to drop off her artwork for the Hello Kitty Three Apples exhibition that (JapanLA owner Jamie curated the show). She was immediately super friendly and easy to talk to, and I was really impressed to meet the Crowded Teeth designer in person, since I have often seen her products on sale practically everywhere!

Michelle often does 3d art, like these little guys playing instruments!

Michelle often does 3d art, like these little guys playing instruments!

Michelle is very modest, and always willing to help others! She talked about her art style with me right away, even though I had just met her (I feel like she was giving me trade secrets!) and I’m so pleased that we are still friends today, always bumping into each other at the same art show openings 🙂 She’s been a big inspiration to me, since her art style resonates very strongly with the illustrative quality of my own work, and she has been so patient and nice to me, giving me advice on art styles, tools, and being jaw-some.

She recently opened a solo show at JapanLA, full of awesome cuteness! Many of her works have already sold, but you should come down and check out the installation, which will be up until May 2nd! I snapped a few pics when I went for the opening party a few weeks ago! =D

Here’s info on her background from her site!

Michelle's collection of rings she made for the event! I made sure to grab a white bunnymonster looking one ❤

Michelle Romo is a self-taught illustrator and designer who is fueled by cookies and naps. She got her first computer when she was 16 and she hasn’t stopped working since. Her influences include Mid-Century, Japanese, and Scandinavian design and pretty much anything cute.

Michelle created her line, Crowded Teeth, in 2004 and continues to create characters and products under that name. When she isn’t working she spends her time eating good food, hugging her friends, playing video games, and crafting. She currently resides in Los Angeles with her husband Jason and their two cats, Hurts and Morgan.

Here’s her in-progress photo of her work! I’m sure the final product is going to be SO MUCH MORE amazing than this! Michelle always adds surprising elements to her work like interesting framing, hidden characters, and 3d pieces!

For all purchase inquiries, you can contact me at iamchubbybunny (at) gmail (dot ) com! Stay tuned for more artists’ previews for the Bunnies & Bows show!

Leave a Reply

