Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist: Dianne Garcia: A Nerd By Any Other Name

21 Apr

All of the artists I have chosen for the Bunnies & Bows event have influenced me on a creative, professional, or personal level in some way.  I’ll be introducing some of the artists who have been sending me in their progress shots for the Bunnies & Bows gallery (debut & opening party May 7!) here!

Dianne Garcia

 

WARNING: I refuse to explain every nerdy term in this post, so if you don’t know whuzzup, go to the Google! haha

Dianne as Sakura from Street Fighter!

For me, Dianne was one of those people that you hear about long before you actually meet them in person. Mainly, this is we are nerds. The first I ever heard of Dianne was back in the Livejournal days of 2002-ish, when everyone who cosplayed was always clicking about the internet looking for people who had good cosplay from series’ they liked. I was living in Pennsylvania, attending Penn State, being an otaku, and kept coming up on photos of Diane dresses ad Nana from the same-titled popular manga series by Ai Yazawa.

Diann'es work she made for a Charity art exhibition benefiting the Lisa Nguyen scholarship fund, created after the passing of our friend.

We chatted here and there via LiveJournal comments and when I finally moved to LA, we met in 2008!

Dianne is a kickass person. She’s an incredibly hard worker- always putting in OT at LA Weekly as a graphic artist, is an amazingly loyal friend, and also runs DefectiveGeeks.com with a group of her other nerdy gal pals. Embracing the fact that we are weird, like “nerdy” things, and are pretty much unashamed about our obsession with cartoon characters, this is what makes people like Dianne (and me) totally awesome, haha.

Dianne rarely exhibits her awesome work, so I am very pleased to have given her the impetus to create a new piece for the Bunnies & Bows shows. A talented artist with a soft and muted style, I hope you all watch her as she continues to do more work in the future! Here’s a progress photo of what she’s got so far…!

About the show, Dianne says, “Michelle is one if the hardest working artist I know. I am honored to be a part of celebrating her accomplishments. Bunnies and bows: truly, what more do I need to create artwork for a friend?”

I can’t wait to see her final finished piece!

For all purchase inquiries, you can contact me at iamchubbybunny (at) gmail (dot ) com! Stay tuned for more artists’ previews for the Bunnies & Bows show!

3 Responses to “Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist: Dianne Garcia: A Nerd By Any Other Name”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chubby Bunny Presents: Bunnies & Bows: Art Exhibition & Chubby Bunny Fashion Event! « I am Chubby Bunny! - April 21, 2011

    […] Garcia Twitter Artwork Preview for Bunnies & Bows A full time graphic designer for the LA Weekly magazine, part time blogger and a space pirate, she […]

  2. Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist: San Smith: Blast from the Pink Past! « I am Chubby Bunny! - April 27, 2011

    […] would seem that my otaku past has a way with catching up with me. Dianne Garcia and I are nerd friends from the past, but San Smith and I also come from the way-back-when time […]

  3. D E F E C T I V E G E E K S » Blog Archive » ART: I Dream of Bunnie - May 2, 2011

    […] Michelle wrote this very, very sweet Meet-the-Artist blog about me: A Nerd By Any Other Name […]

Leave a Reply

