Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist, Aimee Steinberger: Triple threat… TO MY HEART!

12 Apr

Those who come to the events I host with Bubble Punch are sure to recognize these awesome artists when they see their work! As I mentioned before, all of the artists I chose have influenced me on a creative, professional, or personal level in some way.  I’ll be introducing some of the artists who have been sending me in their progress shots for the Bunnies & Bows gallery (debut & opening party May 7!) here!

Aimee Steinberger

Aimee Steinberger

Piece from "Kaguya Hime" series Aimee did, in her gallery exhibition in Santa Monica last year.

Aimee is one of those people that, as soon as you meet them, you can instantly sense their inner awesome. For me, I was able to immediately tell that Aimee was a very different person from many other people I’d met in my life. And true to intuition, Aimee’s her skills, positive outlook, professionalism, love of life, and blatant embracing of nerd culture. Some of the things you might not know about her from her resume one her website is that:

1) If you are ever sad, or feeling discouraged, she will take you to a rose garden, sit you down in some grass, and commiserate with you and make you somehow feel better without seeming to do any talking at all.

2) Knows more about flowers, especially roses, than anyone I know. But I guess most people I know hate/accidentally kill plants Hmm.

3) Makes amazing beautiful historical gowns FOR FUN. And I envy her sososososmuch for her talent with crafting things!

Aimee MADE THIS Marie Antoinette costume, based on the Rose oF Versailles, a Takarazuka theater production. Jaw dropping to the floor forever to this day.

She is SUCH a talented seamstress, rose caretaker, friend, curry-maker, and that is ON TOP of her insanely jawdropping resume!

Aimee is one of the artists I put in my show because of her triple-threat of awesomeness. We share a love of sewing, girly girly things, and the ever-useful ability of switching on our “professional mode” when called upon.

I have always counted myself lucky to know Aimee, and even luckier that she counts ME as someone to call her friend too. She is able to embrace her girlyness and otaku-ness, and at the same time, balance that with having an incredibly professional attitude when it comes to work. The careful balance of these two things is something I’ve always worked with, and it’s always so great to meet another person who is able to be successful professionally without giving up their “socially weird” side…!

Aimee is an animator, and a kickass one at that. She grew up in Charleston, South Carolina, and is an alumni of California Institute of the Arts with a BFA in Character Animation. She currently works as an animation artist, and is currently Assistant Director on the new series of Napoleon Dynamite and Futurama!, and has previously worked on Sit Down Shut Up, the Simpsons, and for Warner Brothers and for Disney. She is an award winning fan costumer (Yes.. COSPLAYER!), and writes and illustrates for various Japanese fashion, doll and manga publications. You can find Aimee’s full resume here.

Episode of Futurama that Aimee Assistant Directed. I LOVE THIS SHOW.

Suffice to say, Aimee is a jack of all trades, and someone who I think I am very lucky to call friend. As we speak she’s packing up to go to CHINA right now and be fabulous and probably take a ton of very awesome cosplay photos! This is our nerdom. It runs deep! Ok, fangirling aside, she is such a nice and positive person, and you’ll just have to meet her at the show!

She was kind enough to send this to me before she packed up for her global tour… a preview of her Bunnies & Bows piece! She’s such a sweetheart and drew it inspired after.. well.. you can guess… haha.

The piece so far is ADORABLE and I cannot wait to see more!

For all purchase inquiries, you can contact me at iamchubbybunny (at) gmail (dot ) com! Stay tuned for more artists’ previews for the Bunnies & Bows show!

One Response to “Meet “Bunnies & Bows” artist, Aimee Steinberger: Triple threat… TO MY HEART!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chubby Bunny Presents: Bunnies & Bows: Art Exhibition & Chubby Bunny Fashion Event! « I am Chubby Bunny! - April 13, 2011

    […] roster: Aimee Steinberger Twitter Artist Profile feature on Iamchubbybunny.com Aimee Steinberger is an animation artist currently working as Assistant Director on Napoleon […]

Leave a Reply

