FIDM: Transported back to my college years!

7 Jul

As many of you know, I had been unhappy with my lack of expertise in the field of set design, computer rendering of objects and rooms, and a lack of creative outlets past clothing. I started a journey about 7 months ago by applying to the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (FIDM) as part of their Professional Designation program in Visual Communications. I’m happy to announce that I attended orientation yesterday and am ready to start my 1-year Professional Designation (PD) program! The PD program is specifically for students who already have a degree, and since I already have 3 B.A.s in my pocket from when I attended Penn State, this was the perfect option for me.

So if you see me blogging about my new school life (that I am now juggling with my Chubby Bunny line, as well as Bubble Punch event production projects) and are wondering what the hell I’m doing back in school, now you know! Also, I noticed that there aren’t.. really… ANY good FIDM blogs up at the moment. I mean, there are a couple that mention FIDM, but they usually all peter off into obscurity after about 3 excited “OMG I’M HERE” posts. Sort of weird considering the youth that’s attending that school. Isn’t it all about social networking? So, I guess I’ll take it upon myself to inform others who are mildly interested in what happens at FIDM about what’s what in the Vis. Comm major.

I’m super happy to be back in school in a structured learning environment. I’ve always done really well in this kind of setting, so I’m confident I’ll have a good experience. I know it seems silly to start school again when I’m just into relaunching the Chubby Bunny line, but I know it’s important for me to explore all the paths I want to take while I have the opportunity!

So, orientation was pretty standard.. talking about our EXCITING FUTURE and all that. I definitely felt a little elderly since there were a lot of fresh-out-of-highschool-ers around me. Unfortunately it was freakishly RAINING throughout the day and we had to sit under tents outside, shivering and wet for about 3 hours at the beginning. Yuck! It was such a sad sad crime to make all the fashionable ladies in their heels trek across the grass to get their papers and whatnot. I was wearing my super tall Jeffrey Campbell boots, so I almost took a spill a few times myself.

We got stuffed with sandwiches, drinks, and chips all day so at least we didn’t go hungry. After our lunch break, we got to retrieve our FIDM bags that every student gets. It’s a little bulky, but I found a good use for it when i got home:

I think Peeker wants to be a fashion kitty.

We got a huge slew of papers, and even a nice planner/ student handbook. I decided to lighten the load on the planer and ripped out everything I didn’t really need. Ah, so slimming.

Well, that about sums up the orientation. The only thing I’m really worried about is fitting in school work with my other 2 jobs at the moment. It’s going to be an adventure! My first class is on Monday. Let’s teach an old dog some new tricks, shall we?

OMAKE:

Peeker the fashion kitty has given up the idea of school to live the life of a rockstar.

4 Responses to “FIDM: Transported back to my college years!”

  1. shing July 7, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    oh wow, i did not know that degree program existed – it is pretty much the collection of the dream-further-education that i want(except i’d be the non-fashioney kid that just wants to draft trade show displays all day)!

    • iamchubbybunny July 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      I dont think this major is necessarily even FOR fashiony people…! I’m glad I have the opportunity to learn this… just hope I’m not crap at it! ha!

  2. San Smith July 8, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Congrats!! ❤

Leave a Reply

