Apartment Therapy Book Signing: Inspiration for us small-dwelling folk

30 Jun

This past Saturday, I finally had some free time to laze about on the internet, and discovered that Maxwell Gillngham-Ryan, the originator of one of my favorite websites was visiting Los Angeles! THAT DAY!

I reached down next to my bed and pulled out the copy of his book I had just purchased a few weeks ago. The book is called Apartment Therapy’s Big Book of Small, Cool Spaces and is a fantastic read for any one who has ever had an interest in improving their living space without spending tons of cash.

One of my favorite aspects of the book, and about the Apartment Therapy website itself, is the sake of reinventing your living space to make your lifestyle and aesthetic happier, not just to be “avant garde” and spend a billion dollars knocking out walls and such.

I’m usually okay in social situations like book signings and things, but for some reason, when I got there I was crazy shy and spent a lot of time fake browsing the store trying to look like I was not trying to see if the author was around. I am a major nerd, sometimes. With the help of my friends (and some champagne), I eventually chatted up one of the homeowners whose house was featured in the book. She was really nice, and later on, told Maxwell I was too embarrassed to talk to him. SOoooo… one thing lead to another, and he came over to talk to me.

It was both really awesome and insanely embarrassing to talk to him.

Myself and Maxwell. Note the crazy awkward smile.

He gave a talk towards the end of the event, recapping how he found himself sort of falling into interior design by force of habit, and then eventually launching the website as a way to share his little glimpses of ideas to people from all over. It was very inspiring listening to his summary of his life, and how he got to where he is today just by friends of friends of friends and lots of hard work. As a business owner myself, though mine is still very small, it felt nice to be reassured that no one else knows what they’re in for when they start a business, too! I took a video of his entire speech but… the audio is SUPER LOW unfortunately ;.;  SO SAD! It was such a great speech!

I have a deep respect for those who take time to make their homes reflect who they are. I’m sad I can’t change around my apartment now, as I’m in a a stage of transition, so I can’t go about purchasing furniture or painting walls just yet. But someday…!!

The talk was over at Heath Ceramics, a really pretty interior good store I had never been to before. I took some pictures of their super cute backyard area. You would never know this place was right on Beverly Blvd in the middle of all the hubbub behind CBS studios.

Enjoy my badly photoshopped pic! I loved the string lights hanging from above, and the ivy mixed with brick. Such a nice table too!

This DIY kids house was so good. I wonder how much it costs???

Oh, duh. It costs THIS MUCH. HAHAHA. 1 Bed 2 Bath!!!

2 Responses to “Apartment Therapy Book Signing: Inspiration for us small-dwelling folk”

  1. Carolee June 30, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    This was an adorable story! I didn’t know we were both major interior nerds! 🙂 Next time we get together, we’ll have to chat about great apartments we’ve seen. I somehow miss Dwell on Design every year (in fact, it was just last weekend!) but some day I’ll go and drag you with me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. OOTDs & a Spelling Bee « I am Chubby Bunny! - July 7, 2010

    […] to the Apartment Therapy book signing a few weeks […]

Leave a Reply

