The Dress Show: A wild chubby bunny appears…

13 May

This past Saturday, May 8th, I totally popped my gallery cherry and participated in a group artists’ show, titled “The Dress Show.”

A delicate onion dress fit for a fancy gnome, by Dawn Anderson

Curated by Dawn Anderson, the show focused on art as it relates to clothing, and vice versa. Clothing-as-art was the focus of all the artists who participated in this event which also featured live bands!

I was very flattered to be asked to participate in this gallery show. Normally, the work I do falls in the category of (perhaps “extreme”) fashion, and not “art.” It was definitely strange to be approached by guests as an “artist,” and I felt a little bit like someone posing as an artist! But, inner monologue aside, my work was really well received, and I believe I have Dawn to thank for that, for sticking me on the front of the flyer ahead of time!

It was a nice feeling to have my work appreciated as opposed to worn and then stumbled around in all night, ha! There were other great works at the show, too, but I wonder if anyone has ever actually worn them? Hmm!

My circus outfit was originally created for the “Cirque du So Lame” themed party hosted by Zippercut. Wanting to make something entirely insane, I was inspired by Manish Arora’s exquisite carousel dress from his Spring/Summer 2009 line. When I make costumes for themed events, I tend to get a little too crazy with detail, and also to take a very, very literal approach. This outfit was definitely no exception.

My "Cirque du So Lame" piece.

I turned myself into a human circus tent for a night, complete with tigers, elephants, clowns, and trapeze artists! Some other items I chose to include were lights around the “stage” at the front of the skirt and hat, as well as fanciful gold tassels and gold stars and roses to complete the look.

The infrastructure of the dress was created using illustration board, wooden dowels, this wonderfully ruffled fabric I found downtown, and a lot of fuzzy geometry (“fuzzy,” as in, “I am bad at math so there were a lot of mistakes at first”).

The outcome was really great, and I was really happy to be able to show the garment again at this event. The “Cirque du So Lame” dress is still on display at Pehrspace Gallery until next month, so stop by if you’d like to take a look! I am also selling this item, so if you’re interested, please drop me a line!

Thanks again to everyone who showed up and supported me in my first show! This won’t be my last, though… Stay tuned for some more exciting Chubby Bunny announcements later this week!

More photos after the jump and also on Defective Geek’s Blog!

My cutie pie college rommate (who makes me look really short when I stand next to her) came to visit for the weekend!

YumeNinja and Mandy Ma showed up for THE SAKE OF FASHION! Both of their outfits are really impeccable!

Below are dresses by the other artists at the event… really inventive stuff!

Durr hurr hur. Photo by Dawn of Defective Geeks!

Leave a Reply

